Visio 2007 and 2010 drove me CRAZY when trying to print on larger paper – Solution!

So I was once again creating another deliverable for a client.  It was a fun project with all sorts of critical situations, problems with networking drivers and other networking issues.  Aside from that, the VMware environment was 100% 10Gb everywhere.  So I was creating my visio and then tried to print it
To be clear, I create poster size Visio’s using the Architectural “E” setting which is 34×44.  I don’t know exactly what that means other than I created a Visio on a large 34×44 setting and then tried to print it on that paper a little later.
1.  Visio Doc with Page Setup set to “E: 34 x 44” and Landscape chosen as well as “Fit to 1 sheet across and 1 sheet down.

2.  Same Visio doc with the proper Page Size set (Custom 44 x 34 with Landscape chosen):

3.  Next, since I have regular Adobe 8 installed (not just reader), I created a NEW PAPER size as shown below:

4.  Next, I made sure I had the custom scale setup.  The default is 1:1, but I had issues for some reason with this.  So I went to “custom” and made it 1:1 and ensured my page size as shown below:

5.  Next I went to the Visio Print Preview to ensure it “looked” like what I wanted.  Visio was fussy with me earlier.  However, this time it looked like what I wanted with the Visio fitting perfectly into my “paper” selection.  I’ll show a before and after: (I intentionally blurred it minus the title to keep information private):

Before pic
Before screenshot

After Screenshot 

After Screenshot

6.  Once it looked like what I wanted, I then proceeded to print using the following procedure of selecting “print” then choosing the Adobe PDF and “selected sheet”….this meant only 1 tab printed since my visio has multiple tabs:

7.  Then I made sure to click the Properties button for the Adobe PDF printer (to the right on the above pic) and ensure it had the custom paper size I created earlier:

8.  The I let Adobe PDF print it and had it printed as I wanted it in the size I wanted it:

9.  Now it’s ready to go to FedEx Kinkos for printing!  What a PITA, but hey, at least it’s working!

I hope this helps anyone else out there with similar issues.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Visio 2007 and 2010 drove me CRAZY when trying to print on larger paper – Solution!

  1. Visio 2010 is driving me crazy! I was able to define custom print sizes in an earlier version of Visio, but now the canned sizes do not address any customized super sizes, like 60″ x 36″ for a roll fed HP plotter, and the largest I have to print is 84 ” long. Yes, I have made PDF’s of each of my huge diagrams, but no luck using Visio to let me define a custom print page size. Grrrrr.

Leave a Reply

